Why are you what you are?

Why are you what you are?
BY: CHRISTINE WOLSTENHOLME

*Kenza, freshmen, Mechanical Engineering
“I was born Muslim, but I wasn’t taught anything about religion until I was 17. But you need a little lamp that will show you the way. I looked into Judaism, but I like Muslim because I like how it tells me how to behave towards others.”
She lives by: “Don’t do what you don’t want others to do to you.”

*Will Grant, junior, Political Science:
“I’m Agnostic. I was born Christian, my parents are Christian. At age 17 I became Agnostic because it seemed like common sense.”
He questions if there is a god, he doesn’t really care about religion.

*Hong Lou, sophomore, BioMed:
“I’m Buddhist because my whole family is. Buddhism isn’t really a religion, it’s a way of believing, it’s a way of life.”

*Christian Giron, sophomore, Mechanical Engineering
“I’m Atheist because I think scientifically and logically, and logically religion doesn’t make sense to me.”
He was born and baptized Catholic, he changed religion when “I started thinking for myself and stopped listening to just what my parents told me.”

*Nipum Kumar, sophomore, PrePharmacy:
“I’m Hindu. Hinduism is very broad, each deity is supposed to show good morals and good behavior. There’s a lot of stories and epic tales, after what you find is good morals and good behavior, Hinduism tells you to be free and find your own salvation. Karma is to keep you in check. Reincarnation is personal opinion. When I was younger, I heard all the deities and I chose my own.”

*Tim Davis, junior, Engineering:
“I was born Catholic, but I’m not very good at practicing. Because you don’t know if this is it, or if there’s something afterwards. Am I wasting time, am I not wasting my time? Religion can be a good thing but it can also be a way to set people apart.”

*Jamie Lee, senior, BioMed:
“I am Christian. My parents sent me to Christian kindergarten.”

*Juan Serrano, junior, Foreign Language Education:
“I was born Catholic but I changed it because I found more profoundness in Protestants then Catholics. I changed when I was 12 years old, my parents supported me.”
He is very strict with his religion, he goes to church regularly, he observes holidays. His mantra: To do good, not to sin, and to receive righteousness.

*Ashley Holloway, freshmen, Art Studio:
“I’m Christian. I’ve researched a lot of religions for some classes, but instinctively I chose Christianity as my religion.”

*Urvish Patel, sophomore, BioMed Science:
“I’m Hindu because my parents are. Other friends have told me about their religions, but I stuck with Hindu because I was born this way and it would be weird to change. I’ve looked into Christianity and it’s interesting but my religion has become part of my culture.”

*Benjamin Jacob, junior, BioMed Science:
“I’m Christian because I was born into this faith, and through out my life I’ve grown stronger in my faith.”

*Mike Ebrada, junior, Education:
“I’m Catholic because my parents are, I know about other religions but I never thought of being another religion.”

*Bac Nguyen, sophomore, Industrial Engineering
“I was born Christian, I looked into Buddhism and Tao, but it didn’t interest me.”

*Elizabeth Garcia, sophomore, Philosophy
“I consider myself Spiritual and do not associate myself with a religion. I was raised Roman Catholic but after the age of eleven I realized that Catholicism did not answer my questions about life, death, humanity, etc. The answers I was always given were rather vague, so I went on my own spiritual journey, much against my mother’s wishes, to find a religion or faith that would better suit my questions and needs. I have taken many religion and philosophy classes, and though I found myself mostly interested in eastern religions such as Buddhism and Taoism, they are not really a religion but a way of life. I realized I didn’t need to affiliate myself with a certain religion, so I have taken bits and pieces of many religions, such as Buddhism, Islam, Judaism, Christianity, etc, and Philosophies such as Socrates, Aristotle, Kant, Emerson, Thoreau, etc, and I have created my own sense of morality and ethics. Though in the end my foundations are still Catholic, I have made my way of being, influenced by the major religions and philosophies in the world. I don’t believe they contradict each other, but then again I have taken bits and pieces that enforce what I believe is morally/ethically correct.”

I have their contact info, obviously I didn’t want to post it.

Leave a Reply

