Courtney allen

There’s no fancy sudio door or state of the art waiting are. There are no fancy records on the wall or plush leather couches. Because when it comes to a real recording studio, it’s not all about the bells and whistles for J-Style. It’s about producing quality music.
Roger “J-style” Grace has been singing, writing and producing songs in his Temple Terrace recording studio ever since he bought it a year ago. There are no rules, no one standing over his shoulder orchestrating his every move because he’s the conductor.
Equipped with five keyboards, a Macintosh G5 computer, a couple mixing faders and a microphone, the studio has just enough J-Style needs to produce tracks for his own R&B group plus 14 other artists under his label, Street Team Entertainment.
He was born and raised in Tampa with his sister and three brothers.
“I’ve been playing music basically all my life. I started off on the drums. I took piano, guitar, and some violin,” J-Style said. “I didn’t need any help either, I did it all on my own.
In the past 5 years, J-Style attended Full Sail University, graduated with a bachelor’s degree in studio engineering, received a $20,000 grant for sponsoring a youth program and managed to flip his earnings into the very studio he works in today. He has become a partner in Street Team Entertainment and has already released an R&B album with his group, AOK.
Today, the 25-year-old singer, songwriter and producer is working on his second album which is set to release the beginning of 2008.

* * * * *

J-Style learned how to be smooth from Marvin Gaye.
“It’s old school music but it has meaning. I started off just listening to all types of different styles. I don’t like stuff I’ve already heard before like samples that people take from other artists. I like someone who has a creative mind, that does their own thing,” he says rubbing his hands together, “I just listen, then I can put my mind into my music and do what I do best.”
His loose, white t-shirt and crisp Marithe Francois Girbaud jeans reflects his modest attitude. His necklace, bracelet and ring glazed in diamonds, are the only signs he shows of his success.
“I’m the basic type. I don’t like flashy stuff too much,” he says while checking the text messages on his Nokia. “And I don’t go out. I’m too busy.”
He’s been working all morning. It’s only a few hours before J-Style must leave for Miami to perform with his gospel group, Tampa Boyz. Most likely, he won’t get back until 3 o’clock in the morning, he says. And since it’s Saturday, he’ll have to wake up early to be at the Potter’s House Deliverance Tabernacle, where he plays the organ for the church’s Sunday service.
With a jam-packed schedule and a bustling personal life, J-Style is missing one important element in his life.
“Sleep, I don’t get any rest,” he says.

* * * * *

It’s 8’oclock in the morning and J-Style has already set up his equipment on the stage and is waiting patiently, even though members won’t be arriving for next 30 minutes. He sits, facing the pews, thumbing through his bible carefully.
“I’ve been in this church for 10 years. Our gospel groups performs all over Florida and we get to travel every weekend,” he says.
An hour later, the last person arrives while the choir is singing, clapping, and waving their hands. As for J-Style, he’s busy playing the organ just as cool as ever, bopping his head with every few hits of the bass drum. He plays a crucial roll to the congregation. While the rest of the gospel group singers take their seats for the sermon, he remains onstage.
As the pastor begins her narration, he quietly plays the organ in the background. When she gets louder, so does he, drawing chords with his long fingers and holding them. The members stand and rejoice. They laugh, cry, stomp their feet- but J-Style never loses his cool. He just bops his head quietly.

* * * * *

Hours after the service ceases, J-Style is wrapping up last-minute announcements with the gospel choir. He’ll touch up some songs at the studio for a few hours, and then head home. Tomorrow, he’ll wake up, eat breakfast, and workout on his punching bag like he does every morning. Then it’s off to the studio for most of the day again.
This is the daily cycle he plans on sticking with.
“This is it. This is what I’ve been doing all my life and this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. It’s my only job.”
He is considering adding a distributing company to his tremendous resume in the next few years.
His popular reputation in his community has gained him respect amongst other local artists and fans. But soon, he won’t only be recognized locally- he plans on promoting his empire in every major city in the U.S.
J-Style leaves a final comment before loosening his tie and heading for the door.
“There’s a lot of cats who didn’t bother with me before, and now they mess with me. All I got to say is that they better mess with me now before it’s too late.”

2 Responses to “Courtney allen”

  1. Christine Says:

    Interesting story, a few typos in the beginning though. But good job.

  2. usfadvancedreporting Says:

    There is one part where you to refer to him as J-Rock…I dont know if this is another person or just a typo.

Leave a Reply

