By: Eric Moeller and Shantrell Scott

Despite upsetting then-No. 17 Auburn in Alabama on Saturday, this week’s major national polls still have USF on the outside looking in.

The polls have the Bulls ranked No. 26 in the Associated Press Poll while the Coach’s poll has USF at No. 27 — just behind the recovering Auburn Tigers.

While it might seem surprising that an upset on the road against a ranked SEC team wasn’t enough to earn the Bulls their first-ever national Top 25, it wasn’t a shock to USF quarterback Matt Grothe, who voiced his opinion of the voters following the game on Saturday.

“Honestly, I don’t think the coach’s poll gives a rat’s ass about us,” Grothe said. “I don’t think we will be ranked. But, I think a win (against UNC) would definitely solidify us in the Top 25.”

Grothe’s opinion on the voters echoes those of many USF students, who feel that last weekend’s upset of the Tigers should have been enough to propel to Bulls into the Top 25.

“I don’t think we’re getting enough respect at all,” said C.J. Hermida, a senior majoring in communications at USF. “I don’t really understand how we can be behind the team that we just beat.”

Many students on the USF campus feel that the Bulls deserve more credit, especially with Saturday’s victory marking the third time USF has upset a Top 25 team in the last three years. The Bulls earned their first win against a ranked team in 2005 by defeating then-No. 9 Louisville and followed it up last season with a upset over then-No. 7 West Virginia.

“I think we deserve more credit,” said Paul Maxwell, a senior majoring in environmental science. “Every single year we have a different upset it seems like. We should be ranked by now, but if we keep doing that we’ll get there eventually.”

There is one thing that everyone on the USF campus knows. The easiest way for the Bulls to ensure a Top 25 ranking is by defeating No. 4 West Virginia, which makes a trip to Tampa to face the Bulls on Sept. 28.

“(I think we have to) beat UNC, a team that we should beat and then beat West Virginia,” Maxwell said. “(The Mountaineers) are coming here into our house and they’re going to be stoked to beat us because be beat them last year. So, if we beat West Virginia I think we can shoot right up the polls.”

While their rank in this week’s polls might be disappointing to the Bulls, they can take solace in the knowledge that the man calling the plays for last year’s national championship team has taken notice of the USF and holds a high opinion of the school.

“I think they’re already there,” Urban Meyer, coach of the Florida Gators, said to the St. Petersburg Times. “I think (USF coach Jim Leavitt) is doing a great job. I coached against him one time and he beat us. They’ve got a good program. A very good program.”

9 Responses to “”

  1. Joe Says:

    I know we talked about the profanity…and in the context here (and in being on a college campus), I think it’s OK to use it. Solid work — nice blend of official and unofficial sources. Of course, you had an advantage because one of you covered the game in Auburn.

  2. Natalie G. Says:

    The lead is very good, it is catchy and keeps me reading. The quotes are also a strong point, they fit well into the entire peice. The flow seemed to work as well.

  3. Tiffany Talley Says:

    I like the lead, it keeps me reading. Where did you get Matt Grothe’s comment. I don’t think it was appropriate for this story.

  4. Mari Muzzi Says:

    Good lead and quotes. Good use of sources.

  5. usfadvancedreporting Says:

    I don’t like the use of then-No.17, then-No. 7. I like the quotes, but the ass part was a bit out there. I think I would have liked it better as in the other stories (expletive)

  6. Aaron Says:

    I love your lead and the last quote.

  7. Courtney Herrig Says:

    Wow I am actually exicited about the Sept 28th game, and I never watch football at all!

    Your article makes me proud and excited to be a Bull.

  8. Christine Wolstenholme Says:

    Nice lead and good solid reporting make for an interesting story.

  9. Priscilla Says:

    Great story and quotes, but I would re-arrange the beginning of the story to better atract the reader.

Leave a Reply

